Alexandra Stan Serves Bops With ALESTA

Alexandra Stan Alesta

The original queen of sax-pop, Alexandra Stan, is back! ALESTA is the Romanian diva’s third album, and it dropped exclusively in Japan this week.

It is, of course, full of bops and lives up to the high standards Stan set for herself with her acclaimed sophomore album Unlocked. ALESTA is fronted by the European hits “We Wanna”, a collabo with fellow Eurodance queen Inna, and the confessional tropical-infused “I Did It Mama”. Unfortunately this baby voiced goddess hasn’t been able to match the success of her debut hit single “Mr. Saxobeat”, but ALESTA cuts like “Step It Up” or “Alone” could become dancefloor anthems across the globe.

“Step It Up” is a sassy jam about werking it in NYC, musically mirroring the “Worth It” structure of building up to a massive sax drop for you to get down low to. Other highlights include the Latin flavored dance bop “Coco Banana” and the 8 bit kicks, trap hats and Middle Eastern strings of “Ecoute”. Stan is clearly coming for blood and UK dance floors with the deep house bass and glittery plucks of “Alone”.

Overall, a solid album from this underrated innovator. Hopefully, charts other than Oricon are ready for Alexandra Stan this time around.

ALESTA tracklist:

1. “Step It Up” 2:56
2. “Get What You Give” 3:03
3. “We Wanna” (with Inna featuring Daddy Yankee) 3:52
4. “Alone” 3:57
5. “Ecoute” 3:15
6. “Balans” (featuring Mohombi) 3:09
7. “Coco Banana” 2:42
8. “I Did It, Mama!” 3:25
9. “9 Lives” 3:39
10. “La Fuega” 2:48
11. “Boom Pow”2:49

Buy ALESTA from CDJapan.

Cher this:

One Response

Go Off, Sis!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top